Smile for the Coup D'état

Broke, drunk, and caught up in the mayhem of a military coup d'état in Thailand, Peter and his dangerously charismatic friend, Joseph, double down on their pursuit of destructive obsessions. But the crimes that they have committed together are becoming increasingly hard to hide under the tumultuous new political order. Pressured...

To Become a Whale

The story of a young boy who has recently lost his mother, trying to make sense of the world of men and then embarking on a breathtaking adventure of his own - a stunning literary debut in the tradition of Favel Parrett's Past the Shallows and Tim Winton's An Open Swimmer. This is an extract from the book, published by Allen & Unwin.

Listening to the Moon

A collection of my favourite short stories, with the first being the title of the collection. More added as I re-edit them. Listening is about the Listening Teacher aiding a gifted teenage singer to gain the confidence to step out onto the stage. Keeping of Stones is about finding the unimaginable amid the trauma of loss and aloneness.

Motherheart

Two men from opposite sides of the world are forced together to face invasion, the vagaries of humanity and the onslaughts of nature. In the 13th century the Great Peace of Frederich the Great and Sallah Ahdin, is threatened from the East. Frederich’s sister, Queen of Jerusalem and Mater of the Reform Church, seeks the aid of the...

Holus-Bolus

Holus-Bolus is a historical fiction novel that explores the life of Stan Hager, a seemingly common man searching for his place in the world. Set in both Blitz-ravaged London and early-80s Australia, the novel traces Stan’s bizarre journey through place and time – a journey overshadowed by misunderstandings and misdemeanour, and shaped...

TAWEREWA

When Lee's brother suicides in a Rotorua mudpool, she goes home to NZ to bury him, and to uncover the reason for her recurring dreams about hiding human bones. Has she blocked out a murder her and her brothers committed when they were young?

All that Blue

Fourteen-year-old Alan is having a bad time. His mum’s unstable, his younger sister’s annoying, and his dropkick dad won’t stick around. When Alan find an old guitar during hard rubbish week, he discovers a love for music he never knew he had. Before he knows it, he’s performing in local talent competitions and making new friends....